Navigate Our Site
Search Site

McNally Smith Presents: Art-Inspired Music and Music-Inspired Art (AIMMIA) Project, 3rd Edition

McNally Smith College of Music is excited to present the Art-Inspired Music and Music-Inspired Art (AIMMIA) Project, 3rd Edition — a truly unique exhibit showcasing the collaborative works of visual artists and musicians from six different colleges. What happens when visual artists and musicians come together to create original work inspired by one another? You’re invited to McNally Smith’s downtown St. Paul campus to find out firsthand by experiencing 18 different pieces blending music and various visual art mediums.

AIMMIA’s eclectic gallery opens with a special Opening Reception on Thursday, October 5 and runs through Tuesday, November 21. This event is FREE and open to the public and will debut live performances from Twin Cities artist Michael Savage and internationally renowned dance artist Jennifer Pray.

AIMMIA, 3rd Edition Opening Reception
Thursday, October 5, 6–9 PM
McNally Smith College of Music

19 Exchange St. E, Saint Paul, MN 55101

Building on the success of two previous on-campus editions, one in 2010 and one in 2015, the exhibit pairs McNally Smith students and faculty with artists from Minneapolis College of Art and Design (MCAD), Metropolitan State University, University of Wisconsin – Stout, and Carleton College. The exhibit also features a piece by participants from the Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology. The show is curated by Elizabeth Black and William G. Franklin of McNally Smith College of Music.

Thank you to the following partners for supporting AIMMIA: Minneapolis College of Art and Design, Metropolitan State University, University of Wisconsin-Stout, Carleton College, Beijing Institute of Fashion Technology, Frogtown Community Radio (WFNU), Mexican Consulate in St. Paul, Minnesota Museum of American Art, and The Film Society Minneapolis-St. Paul.

Thank you to the following for participating in the AIMMIA project: Amy Sands and Kavyesh Kaviraj; Anna Carlson and Sally Martinez; Bruce Hinrichs and Daniel Smith; Caroline Agbonlahor and Karl Koehle; Daniel Caton and Gina Nelson; Ed Charbonneau and Scott LeGere; Elden Rodell and Laura Dill; Erica Spitzer Rasmussen and Kayman Klaas; Gabby Gourley and Miguel Gonzalez; Jennifer Neville and Sarah Bruce; Jeremy Szopinski and Maddie Franz; Kashimana Ahua and Lynda Monick-Isenberg; Kayla Rudess and Trevor DeVine; Kuang Zhao-Chunji Wang-Fang Lu and Yan Clark; Margo Selski and Andrew Brassard; Marlowe Teichman and Preston Drum; Max Altmark and Teresa Borer; Rita Kovtun and Terry Sommer.





  • @aimmiaproject
  • #aimmiaproject